The Thirteen Colonies in North America

Thirteen Colonies

Settlers from Europe came to America and claimed land in the 17th century. These people mainly came from Spain, England, Holland and France. The first colony was at Jamestown (1607). More and more settlers came and so more and more colonies arose on the North East coast of the Atlantic.

Most land belonged to England and France. These two countries fought for control of North America in the French and Indian war (1756 – 1773). There the English fought against France and the Indians. The English won the war and got control of Canada and all 13 colonies.

On July 4, 1776 they proclaimed their independence as the United States of America.

  1. Connecticut
  2. Delaware
  3. Georgia
  4. Maryland
  5. Massachusetts
  6. New Hampshire
  7. New Jersey
  8. New York
  9. North Carolina
  10. Pennsylvania
  11. Rhode Island
  12. South Carolina
  13. Virginia