Time Zones in the USA, Daylight Saving Time (Summertime)

Time zones in the United States of America

There are six time zones in the USA altogether. In the following tables you can find the state and the appropriate time zone. There are states that lie in two zones (e.g. Florida). The times in the table are based on Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) 12.00 pm. We set the clocks back, when we go west.

Time Zone Abbreviation States GMT = 12.00 pm
Eastern Standard Time EST Connecticut, Delaware Georgia, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Vermont, Virginia, Washington DC, West Virginia 07:00 am
Central Standard Time CST Alabama, Arkansas, Illinois, Iowa, Louisiana, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, Oklahoma, Wisconsin 06:00 am
Mountain Standard Time MST Arizona, Colorado, Montana, New Mexico, Utah, Wyoming 05:00 am
Pacific Standard Time PST California, Nevada, Washington 04:00 am
Alaska Standard Time AKST main part of Alaska (Anchorage, Juneau, Nome) 03:00 am
Yukon Standard Time YST
Alaska-Hawaii Standard Time AHST Aleutian islands (west of Alaska), Hawaii 02:00 am

The following states lie in two time zones:

Time Zone States
Eastern Standard Time and Central Standard Time Florida, Indiana, Kentucky, Tennessee
Central Standard Time and Mountain Standard Time Kansas, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, Texas
Mountain Standard Time and Pacific Standard Time Idaho, Oregon

Daylight saving time (Summertime) in the USA

The summertime (daylight saving time) in den USA starts on the second Sunday in March and ends on the first Sunday in November. This has been used since 2007.