Hans and Sophie Scholl – Talk – English

Advertisements

The beginning

In their youth, Hans and Sophie Scholl were two ardent members of the Hitler Youth. But after a short time, Sophie's opinion changed. She wasn't still able to accept the contents of the Hitler Youth. Especially the antisemitism, she didn't like. Hans was still further a proud member and later he even became the group leader!

After this time, Hans was interested in the Youth organisation "Deutsche Jugendschaft vom 11." But unfortunately (but for sure, it was to be expected), the Nazis were against this kind of organisation and so it wasn't allowed for people to join or found other organisations. That was then the reason why (in autumn 1937), the Nazis made a lot of raids in Germany to avoid the organisations.

Resistance of the Scholls and the "Weißen Rose"

The family Scholl and their friends took part in the passive resistance against the Nazis by (for example) reading books by authors like Thomas Mann, Werner Berggruen or Paul Claudel, which were prohibited to read. Apart from this passive resistance, the members of the "Weißen Rose" fought also with other methods. For example they collected bread for the inmates in the concentration camps and they looked after their relatives. Then, they also refused the donations for NS - organisations.

The foundation members were: Hans Scholl, Willy Graf, Christoph Probst, Alexander Schmorell and later came Sophie Scholl to the group.

Financing and producing of the flyers

The flyers of the "Weißen Rose" were produced in a lot of hidings in Munich. They were written with typewriters. The machines, the paper, the envelopes and the stamps were financed with their own capital and by donations. It wasn't easy for them to avoid a suspicion and so the objects (which they needed for the productions) were bought in many different shops in Germany and even in England, Sweden and in Norway.

The end

In the beginning of 1943, the students painted a lot of sentences on house walls. One of them was like this: "Nieder mit Hitler" or "Es lebe die Freiheit". Many people read it and the population became restless.

On February 18th, 1943, Hans and Sophie Scholl distributed the flyers in a Munich university. But unfortunately, they were watched doing this and so both were executed by the guillotine at Munich-Stadelheim.

The other members of the "Weißen Rose" were killed in the following months, too.

written by niki


Advertisements

Referat Geschwister Scholl – Deutsch-Englisch

Anzeigen

Englische Version

Der Anfang

In ihrer Jugend waren Hans und Sophie Scholl zwei leidenschaftliche Mitglieder der Hitlerjugend. Aber nach eine Weile änderte sich Sophies Meinung. Sie konnte die Inhalte der Hitlerjugend nicht mehr akzeptieren. Ganz besonders mochte sie den Antisemitismus nicht.

Hans blieb weiter ein stolzes Mitglied und wurde sogar Gruppenführer!

Nach dieser Zeit war Hans interessiert an der Jugendorganisation "Deutsche Jugendschaft vom 1. 11." Aber leider waren die Nazis gegen diese Art von Organisation und so wurde es verboten, dieser Organisation beizutreten oder andere zu gründen.

Das war auch der Grund, warum die Nazis im Herbst 1937 viele Razzien machten, um solche Organisationen zu vermeiden.

Der Widerstand der Scholls und der "Weißen Rose"

Die Familie Scholl und ihre Freunde leisteten passiven Widerstand gegen die Nazis durch das Lesen von Büchern, die verboten waren, wie z. B. von Thomas Mann, Werner Berggruen oder Paul Claudel. Neben diesem passiven Widerstand kämpften die Mitglieder der "Weißen Rose" auch mit anderen Methoden. Sie sammelten z. B. Brot für die Inhaftierten von Konzentrationslagern und kümmerten sich um deren Verwandte. Sie lehnten Spenden an NS - Organisationen ab.

Die Gründungsmitglieder waren: Hans Scholl, Willy Graf, Christoph Probst, Alexander Schmorell und später kam Sophie Scholl dazu.

Die Finanzierung und das Herstellen von Flugblättern

Die Flugblätter der"Weißen Rose" wurden in vielen Verstecken in München hergestellt. Sie wurden mit Schreibmaschinen geschrieben. Die Maschinen, das Papier, die Umschläge und die Briefmarken wurden aus Eigenkapital oder durch Spenden finanziert. Es war nicht leicht, unverdächtig zu bleiben, deswegen wurden diese Sachen in verschiedenen Geschäften in Deutschland und sogar in England, Schweden und Norwegen gekauft.

Das Ende

Anfang 1943 schrieben die Studenten Sätze an Wände, wie z. B.: "Nieder mit Hitler" oder "Es lebe die Freiheit". Viele Menschen lasen es und die Bevölkerung wurde langsam unruhig.

Am 18. Februar 1943 verteilten Hans und Sophie Scholl Flugblätter in einer Münchner Universität. Leider wurden sie beobachtet und so wurden beide verhaftet und in München-Stadelheim durch das "Fallbeil" hingerichtet. Die restlichen Mitglieder der "Weißen Rose" wurden in den folgenden Monaten auch umgebracht.

erstellt von niki

Englische Version