Stars and Stripes – Flag of the USA

There are 13 red and white stripes in the flag of the USA. These 13 stripes (seven red and six white ones) represent the former Thirteen Colonies. On 4 July 1776 these colonies became independent of Great Britain (Declaration of Independence).

There are 50 stars in the blue rectangle on top left of the flag. These stars represent the 50 federal states. This has been the official flag since Hawaii became a member of the union on 21 August 1959.

Older flags contain less stars depending on how many states belonged to the Union. (see States by Entry into the Union)

The flag of the United States of America is often called ›Stars and Stripes‹.