Flag of Australia

On the top left-hand corner there is the flag of the United Kingdom (Union flag) because Australia is a member of the Commonwealth.

The star under the Union flag has seven points (six for the Australian states and one for all the territories). This star (seven points) is known as the Commonwealth Star – or Star of Federation).

The other five stars symbolize the ›Southern Cross‹ one of the most popular constellations of the Southern Hemisphere. Australia uses five stars for the ›Southern Cross‹. The fifth star (Epsilon Crucis) is not as bright as the others. There are four stars with seven points and one with four points.

All stars of the flag of Australia are white.