Hello from Argentina!

Write something about yourself (who you are and where you come from).
Antworten
Cecilia
Bilingual Newbie

Hello from Argentina!

Beitrag von Cecilia »

Hi everybody! Glad to join the group. I am a teacher of English at secondary school. I have 40 students in each class and I need some help on games that could be done with a crowded classroom. :?
We practise mainly verb tenses and drills have become useful and funny.
Any suggestions?
Thanks a lot.
Cecilia

nimloth
Tongue Twister

Beitrag von nimloth »

Hello Cecilia,

Verb tenses made me think of a game that we played in German when we learned them all.Maybe you can do it with your class as well( I hope you don't know it yet)

You devide the class into two groups. One person of the first group says an infinitive, such as to look, a person like he and the tense,maybe simple past. So one person of the other group has to say he looked.
If the student knew the right answer, his group gets one point. if not,the other group.
Then it the second group's turn.

Greets from Germany,
nimloth
*all you have to decide is what to do with the time that is given to you*

Cecilia
Bilingual Newbie

Beitrag von Cecilia »

Thank you very much for this soon reply. I'm afraid that's what I've been doing and a bit more, I divide the class into several groups and they are in charge of a "tense". I say the infinitive form, and each group, aprox 6, says the verb in the tense they have to.
It is very simple and funny. I am planning to take a sand clock with me so that they don't have too much time to answer.

Of course I think of different rules for this game each time we play, for example, the students in each group must take turns to answer (I want them all to speak, even those who are very shy).
Another rule is to change tenses and groups every three verbs according to a diagram on the blackboard. They have to pay a lot of attention to the verb and to the tense!