How to learn effectively.
Antworten
Sophia Ha
Bilingual Newbie
Muttersprache: Deutsch

How can I overcome a learning blockade?

Beitrag von Sophia Ha »

Hello everyone,

my question is pointing out my problem, I think. But to elaborate it, I’ll write something about my journey with the English language:
I’ve been learning English since the five grade in school, and although I learned British English there I tend using American English for some reason. To be more specific, I had a level of A2 at the end of High School, which was after 13 grades. I didn’t learn there much, and I hadn’t had any intrinsic motivation to do so. This was the main problem that I’ve been neglected learning English so much. After Hight School I went to university, and of course I need English there, especially because I’m studying a scientific major. I’m expected to speak English at B2 level as the Abitur indicates that. But the truth is that I don’t speak it nearly at this level. Currently, I have semester holidays, and I’m learing English much – grammer, spelling, tenses, listening comprehension, reading, and even speaking (only to myself though). I think I’ve already improved a lot when I’m comparing my command of English to my skills three months ago. I guess I mastered the basics of English, even though I still forget to add a „s“ for he/she/it, or mix up the tenses sometimes. For that, I think, practice makes perfect.  :D   Though I noticed that I can’t grasp sentences completly, although I know all vocabularies of it. Isn’t that strange? Words do have ambigious meanings, and isn’t it utopical to know them all? I can’t even read a simple English book without looking up many words. Futhermore, I don’t want to mention that I have tough times to understand them. I have to read really slowly what takes out the fun of reading. Moreover, there are numerous phrasel verbs, which I just can’t learn all or memorize because they are very similar. I feel like that I can’t improve my English anymore