English-language literature

Fragen zu Literatur und ihrem kulturellen und historischen Hintergrund
Questions about literature and its cultural, historical background.
Antworten
deutscherdon
Slow Speller
Muttersprache: English

English-language literature

Beitrag von deutscherdon »

[blockquote][blockquote]One of my favorite topics is how cultures perceive other cultures. An interesting test of this is to ask people from different countries what foreign literature they read in school, and what domestic literature they read in school. The results are often surprising. [/blockquote][/blockquote][blockquote][blockquote]
[/blockquote][blockquote]For example, when I was a foreign exchange student in the USSR, the Russians were astonished to learn that I had never even heard of John Reed. They thought he was the most famous and beloved American author. It turns out that he wrote a book called Ten Days that Shook the World about the communist revolution in Russia. Obviously this was never read in the USA, but widely read in the USSR.[/blockquote][/blockquote]
[blockquote][blockquote]
[/blockquote][blockquote]So for those interested in what American students read, here is a general list of books (and a couple of plays) commonly taught in the USA as "English-language classics". Because it was from an American high school, it is obviously heavy in American literature. However, I am pretty sure most English speakers would at least be familiar with nearly every title on this list. If there are other native English speakers out there reading this, I would be interested in your thoughts/additions to this list.[/blockquote][/blockquote]
[blockquote][blockquote]
[/blockquote][blockquote]I am also interested in which of these books Germans have heard of or read in school. Are these books known in Germany? Are you surprised to find any books missing from the list? Are you surprised to see any of these books included in the list?[/blockquote][/blockquote]
[blockquote][blockquote]