Let's start the development!!

Write something about yourself (who you are and where you come from).
Antworten
Fall_apart
Bilingual Newbie
Muttersprache: Deutsch

Let's start the development!!

Beitrag von Fall_apart »

Hello everybody,
I'm a student from the former capital city of germany: Bonn. I'm 22 years old and misspend many years, respectively hours in school regarding the subject English, instead of using them carefully and efficiently to develop a good basis concerning this global language. The consequence was a miserable-in my point of view, perhaps a little bit exaggerated ;)- English-knowlegdement afterwards(It wasn't really smart, being aware of the fact, that it will/could be of great importance in my career in future).
During the further period of time whilst studying at the University, I tried to improve my english at least with two approaches: Reading Internet articles and watching Movies, Series and sometimes Tv-news with the peak/acme(correct term here?) in my efforts in doing a english(B2+)-course at the uni last semester.
I succesfully completed this course(1,7) with two important conclusions/hypotheses:

1. english-courses are way to overrated: The time-consumption/learneffect-ratio tends to infinity ;).

2. the final test offered me, what I suspected before: My "Reading and Understand"-Skills are solid, BUT writing skills are as bad as sh*t.(12/20 points in the writing section(the task was to write an approximately 200 words essay))

My speaking-skills are even more a problem, but because I'm pretty sure that the writing and speaking-skills correlate, I thought about the following idea as a good one concerning a good possibility to improve this part in the next time:

I will choose some articles, written in the german language and just translate them. That is barely the most innovative idea of this century, but I think this is in my case a good idea, because this has the positive effects: