Anyone have any suggestions to help learn German faster?

Let's speak English here.
Antworten
deadcat
Slow Speller
Muttersprache: english

Anyone have any suggestions to help learn German faster?

Beitrag von deadcat »

I've been learning german with my friend using his program, and it works great, I'm catching on quick (plus as a child I spoke it fluently) but I wanted to know if any other suggestions came to mind to speed this up a bit?

Arminius
Topic Talker
Muttersprache: Englisch

Re: Anyone have any suggestions to help learn German faster?

Beitrag von Arminius »

Read. Read news articles in German like at welt.de and such. Read books if you can. For languages that I study, I buy books that I've already read in English translated into the particular language I'm studying. This way I know what's going on in the book and it makes it quite easy to figure out words from the context. If you don't know German grammar very well, I'd suggest getting a good grammar book to help you. Those crafty Germans have some odd sentence constructions! :tongue:
English, Deutsch, Dansk

Keswick
English Legend
Muttersprache: Deutsch

Beitrag von Keswick »

Arminius hat geschrieben:Those crafty Germans have some odd sentence constructions! :tongue:
Vorsprung durch Technik, Arminius :wink: :tongue: .
Bitte keine Korrektur- / Erklärungsanfragen per PN.
British English (BE) Sprecher.

engless
Bilingual Newbie
Muttersprache: English

Beitrag von engless »

Read a lot of comics, Spiderman, X-men etc. Watch a lot of Youtube - look for Dr Who in German. ( and drink a lot of beer )

Keswick
English Legend

Beitrag von Keswick »

You're trying to be funny engless?
Bitte keine Korrektur- / Erklärungsanfragen per PN.
British English (BE) Sprecher.

elvisett
Bilingual Newbie
Muttersprache: German

Beitrag von elvisett »

What helped me to learn English was to watch english films and especially soaps. That should work the other way arround, too.

yoshua69
Bilingual Newbie

Beitrag von yoshua69 »